Composer Name: Toshi Ichiyanagi

Composition Name: String Quartet No. 2 'Interspace'

Composition Date:                       1986 
Configuration:                         String Quartet
Japanese Instrument(s):                N
Length:                                22'
Players:                               4
Commissioned by:                       Purcell String Quartet
Version (Original/Revised):            O
MFJ Presented:                         Y

American Premiere Venue:               The Asia Society
American Premiere City:                New York
American Premiere Sponsor:             Music From Japan
American Premiere Date:                2/24/95
American Premiere Performers:          Cassatt String Quartet
Name of Publisher:                     Schott Japan Company Ltd.
Article/Review:                        R

Publication:                           The Strad
Title:                                 Concerts
Author/Critic:                         Ken Smith
Publication Date:                      5/95
Reaction:                              Neutral
Synopsis:                              The first movement explores spatial concepts, the second movement's
                                       energetic rhythms illustrate the density of time and the third
                                       moves time and space from distinct entities into a coherent whole.
Origin (American/Japanese):            O

Composer Index, Music From Japan - Home