Composer Name: Midori Takada

Composition Name: Chang-Dra

Composition Date:                       1989 
Configuration:                         Solo
Featured Instrument:                   Percussion
Japanese Instrument(s):                N
Length:                                8'
Players:                               1
Version (Original/Revised):            O
MFJ Presented:                         Y

Other Premiere Venue:                  The Asia Society
Other Premiere City:                   New York
Other Premiere Sponsor:                Music From Japan
Other Premiere Date:                   2/26/95
Other Premiere Performers:             Midori Takada

MFJ Performance Information:
Venue:                                 J.I.C.C.
City:                                  Washington, D.C.
Performers:                            Midori Takada
Article/Review:                        R

Publication:                           The Washington Post
Title:                                 The Pipes Are Calling
Author/Critic:                         Joseph McLellan
Publication Date:                      2/23/95
Reaction:                              Positive
Synopsis:                              "The most memorable work of the evening...a virtuoso exercise,
                                       skillfully coordinating sight and sound...also an essay on dozens
                                       of ways to strike a gong...and build its sound to a crashing climax."
Origin (American/Japanese):            A

Composer Index, Music From Japan - Home