Composer Name: Karel Husa

Composition Name: Recollections

Composition Date:                       1982 
Configuration:                         Sextet
Featured Instrument:                   Piano Forte
Japanese Instrument(s):                N
Length:                                N/A
Players:                               6
Commissioned by:                       New Amsterdam Ensemble
Version (Original/Revised):            O
MFJ Presented:                         Y

World Premiere Venue:                  Coolidge Auditorium
World Premiere City:                   Washington, D.C.
World Premiere Sponsor:                Dutch-Amer. Bicen. Celeb.
World Premiere Date:                   10/28/82
World Premiere Performers:             New Amsterdam Ensemble

Other Premiere Venue:                  Asia Society
Other Premiere City:                   New York
Other Premiere Sponsor:                MFJ
Other Premiere Date:                   12/7/84
Other Premiere Performers:             New Amsterdam Ensemble
Article/Review:                        R

Publication:                           The New York Times
Title:                                 Concert of New Music of Jap&US
Author/Critic:                         Tim Page
Publication Date:                      12/11/84
Reaction:                              Positive
Synopsis:                              ...nostalgic by design, was marred by the composer's sober Modernism,
                                       which never failed to intervene when some engaging sentimentality
                                       might be threatening on the horizon.
Origin (American/Japanese):            A

Composer Index, Music From Japan - Home