Composer Name: Morton Feldman

Composition Name: Spring of Chosroes

Composition Date:                       1977 
Configuration:                         Duets
Featured Instrument:                   Violin
                                       Piano Forte
Japanese Instrument(s):                N
Length:                                N/A
Players:                               2
Commissioned by:                       McKim Fund,
Version (Original/Revised):            O
MFJ Presented:                         Y

Other Premiere Venue:                  Japan House
Other Premiere City:                   New York
Other Premiere Sponsor:                MFJ
Other Premiere Date:                   4/26/80
Other Premiere Performers:             Aki Takahashi, Paul Zukofsky
Article/Review:                        R

Publication:                           The New York Times
Title:                                 Pianist:  Aki Takahashi
Author/Critic:                         John Rockwell
Publication Date:                      4/28/80
Reaction:                              Negative
Synopsis:                              "..the composer's notes were devoted entirely to the richness of
                                       its silk, gold, silver and precious and semi-precious stones.
                                       It was odd the music sounded all the same color:  gray."
Origin (American/Japanese):            A

Composer Index, Music From Japan - Home